Trivium Startups Model > Ethical Startups

Introducing Trivium startups model for designing and building ethical businesses

Tarbez - Cyberninai - CUD CR3TV KNTO
Bootcamp
Published in
6 min readOct 26, 2021

--

Throughout this decade all I’ve read about is how important ethics are in the digital business and why we need to find the implementation of it urgently, as I pondered around this topic by myself in the dark for years.

Researched, Studied, and Experimented with terms such as Design thinking, User-Experience, Human-Centered Design, and much more, I couldn’t seem to find a solution. Such a tremendous goal of providing everything about the experience but where do I start. I argued countless times about the UX terms and that a website is not just a website, maybe that’s why I couldn’t take in any project that felt like a client would need just a website to design. I took one project in my early days and I regretted every moment of it, as I knew I could have done much better to handle information properly but I also knew that the client is toxic and very cheap. So I was, you have a deal, finish and never look back but I always look back. I can’t look at a website just as a website, I’d look at it as a soul, is it faded or alive and does it connect with me?

Even Don Norman said it himself that UX is heavily missed these days by the so-called UX designers

Today that term has been horribly misued. It is used by people to say “I’m a user experience designer, I design websites, so i can design apps” and they have no clues to what they’re doing and they think the experiences that simple device the website or the app or who knows what. No, It’s everything: it’s the way you experience the world, it’s the way you experience your life, the way you experience the service, or — yeah an app or a compute system — but it’s a system that’s everything.
— Don Norman, The one coined the term UX along with Jacob Nielson

My Alt ego would have it and say “I no longer compete on anything other than being ethical”, it quickly became my sole challenge to overcome and soon enough the reason to live. Now, I can build my businesses the way they should be built, with a strong foundation of ethics and much resilience to the point of becoming unstoppable because at the end of the day it is no longer about the service we provide but rather about the creators themselves, do we create to accumulate wealth for ourselves or do we create to truly help our people, contributors, and customers. It has been a dark path and it is darker than the dark patterns you’ve witnessed online but for every bad story there’s an upside, we just need to hold on tight and turn things around.

Today, I’m proud of publishing the first working model, I invite you to contribute, we can make this happen collectively, and that’s the only way we will win. Regardless of what might happen to me in the upcoming days, I’m just happy that it is out there. Even though, I’m going through financial crises by choice to make this happen. Nobody to blame but myself.

The Trivium Startups: Where the three roads meet: Business Owners, Contributors, and the Public.

Win-Win-Win for all stakeholders involved.

Watch the video to get a quick overview as I will produce more videos to explain the theory and model in-depth.

Quick Introduction To Trivium Startups Model
Quick Overview of the model >> Still Under Development >> If you want to implement this contact me

The idea is to satisfy all stakeholders involved regardless of their position and contribution. It can be used for building a unique ethical startup, business, brand, experience, design, campaign, data analysis, or even used in your sales process. It is made of 7-Phases;

  1. Foundation
  2. Direction
  3. Information
  4. Architecture
  5. Transformation
  6. Manifestation
  7. Reflection

Note: This is the first beta version of Trivium Startups Model 0.9 before the official release, I am trying to make it completely dynamic as we collectively contribute to making it better constantly. It is based on a book and If I get enough funds I will focus on it full time while consulting my clients at CR3TV.Studio to improve and back the model with more challenging projects.

Let’s build a better sustainable technological future

As we never going to be able to stop climate change, that’s just part of our human story, we came to destroy it, and to save it at the same time. It is a matter of which side you are on. I’m an optimist not a pessimist in this matter but some facts cannot be changed. Choose the bright side. To be frank with you, I have no respect for the other side. We will only be able to slow it and help each other.

The highest and most precious commodity in the world is ethics, at least that’s how I see it and how I would function until I die. Even the internet itself did the catastrophes as Studies estimate that digital technologies contribute between 1.4% to 5.9% of global greenhouse gas emissions, according to The Royal Society, a leading British scientific academy.

A better Performing technological platforms with much less data consumption

We need to solve information overload and cognitive load through a better-sophisticated design that hides all the unnecessary information for us.

  • If we design platforms where customers choose what to consume and where to go we will be able to avoid a lot of data consumption and that in return decreases information overload and improves our cognitive memory.
  • If we spent less time scrolling to search for information, and instead of finding the desired information we need almost instantly, we will be able to save ourselves time for the important stuff. Countless hours, days, weeks, months, and years are lost because of what we call scroll habits.
  • Argue below the fold or above the fold as marketers suggest to put the most information above the fold since most customers don’t even go below the fold, what are we waiting for? I have designed the prototype for this non-scroll which is based on a theory, which will be launched after I finish with Trivium Startups Model to push for ethical businesses
  • Designers are the new heroes. Not through template-based designs chasing profits, and then brag about it to your friends that you help your clients, that’s shameful. You should be honest and say that you ripped your clients through template-based designs.
  • Instead of using templates, we need to build systems of dynamic components with their unique features and then we design bespoke solutions using these features. The more complex project we work the more features and components we will have. Not a design library of different layouts… Ahh…
  • Dear designers, the unknowledgeable depend on us, and the clients we need to teach them not to do what they ask for, otherwise tell them to go find someone else (lack of a better word — do let me use profanity), there’s always someone ready to do the dirty work. Which one are you? Your excuse is that you need to pay the bills? Being ethical is not a hat with options.
  • Stop Designing apps, websites, platforms, or whatever it is, and start designing delightful full-on experiences. Design information instead of cards, buttons, and boxes.

If you want to collaborate with me, I am happy to help, design, code, or consult but I don’t do websites, or apps, only rich and informative experiences that improve gradually over time. Recently Launched CR3TV.Studio and I aim to make it a fully decentralized platform of ethical experts. So I welcome both clients and whoever wants to be part of this exciting journey.

Time for a change, but if you are on the other side, I do expect the heat.

--

--

Writer for

Between Design, Dance, Tech, Mind, Ethics And Crypto. All of a sudden I’m lost.